Call for Nominations: Niagara Biennial Design Awards 2024

The Niagara Biennial Design Awards are now open for nominations until Aug. 2, 2024.

Established in 2020, the Niagara Biennial Design Awards highlight exemplary design solutions across Niagara’s diverse built environments. From architects to artists, engineers to interior designers, the Niagara Biennial Design Awards recognize the vital contributions of creative individuals and teams who shape our region’s identity and economy.

Award submissions are evaluated on quality, innovation, sustainability and response. In addition, projects must be located within the municipal boundaries of Niagara region and completed between Aug. 5, 2022, and Aug. 2, 2024. Design projects completed before 2022, that have left an enduring mark on our community, will also be considered.

The Niagara Biennial Design Awards explore diverse award categories, each celebrating excellence in a specific aspect of design, including:

  • Visionary Design
  • Urban Design: Complete Communities
  • Urban Design: Urban Interventions
  • Architecture: New Buildings
  • Architecture: Building Alterations
  • Interior Public Spaces: New Interior Public Spaces
  • Interior Public Spaces: Renovated Interior Public Spaces
  • Landscape Architecture: Public Realm
  • Landscape Architecture: Private Realm
  • Outdoor Art
  • Enduring Design
  • Student Design

The Niagara Biennial Design Award nominations can be submitted by a wide range of contributors, including:

  • Owners
  • Developers
  • Architects
  • Landscape architects
  • Urban designers
  • Planners
  • Engineers
  • Interior designers
  • Artists and makers involved with a specific design project.
  • Students enrolled in design programs in high school and post-secondary institutions.  

Nomination forms must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Aug. 2, 2024. Don’t miss your chance to showcase your outstanding design work.

“The Niagara Biennial Design Awards are a testament to the creativity and talent present in our region. By celebrating design excellence, these awards not only honor the achievements of our local designers and artists but also inspire future innovation and collaboration. Together, we are building a stronger, more vibrant Niagara through the power of great design, growing better together.”

Jim Bradley, Regional Chair

“The Niagara Biennial Design Awards are a platform for recognizing and celebrating the transformative impact of design on our community. From visionary architecture to innovative urban interventions, these awards highlight the diversity and ingenuity of design solutions that shape our region. By fostering a culture of design excellence, we’re creating a legacy of sustainability, inclusivity, and resilience for generations to come.”

Michelle Sergi, Commissioner, Growth Strategy and Economic Development

“The Niagara Biennial Design Awards shine a spotlight on the importance of design in driving economic growth and cultural enrichment. Through these awards, we encourage better design practices and celebrate the unique contributions of our design professionals, artisans, and makers. Their work not only enhances our built environment but also strengthens our community identity and attractiveness to visitors and investors alike, contributing to growing a prosperous region.”

George Spezza, Director, Economic Development

Leave a Reply